Mazda to make i-Activsense standard for 5 regular models


A Mazda CX-5 car is seen during the 87th International Motor Show at Palexpo in Geneva on March 8.

Jiji PressTOKYO (Jiji Press) — Mazda Motor Corp. said Monday that the Japanese automaker will equip its five popular models with the i-Activsense advanced safety system as a standard feature by March 2018.

The five are the Demio and Axela subcompact cars, the Atenza compact sedan and the CX-3 and CX-5 sport-utility vehicles.

Automakers tend to make their respective cutting-edge safety technologies, such as collision prevention systems, standard equipment only for high-end models, not lower-grade models like these five.

But a Mazda public relations official said the company “aims to meet growing demand from safety-conscious customers ahead of its rivals.”

Given the increasing number of elderly drivers in Japan, other makers may follow suit, an industry watcher said.

The i-Activsense system’s functions include prevention of collisions at low and middle speeds, reduction of accidents caused by sudden acceleration and warning of another vehicle coming from the next lane.Speech

Click to play


+ -

Generating speech. Please wait...

Become a Premium Member to use this service.

Become a Premium Member to use this service.

Offline error: please try again.