2017 Lower House Election / Ex-prime minister Noda retains seat

Jiji Press

Former Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda celebrates in Funabashi, Chiba Prefecture, on Sunday night.

The Japan News Former Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda was among a number of former Democratic Party members who won seats as independent or new party candidates in the House of Representatives election on Sunday.

Seiji Maehara, the DP president who encouraged members to join the Kibo no To (Party of Hope), also won a seat as an independent in the wake of the effective split of the DP. He was elected from Kyoto Constituency No. 2.

Former DP President Katsuya Okada also ran and won his constituency on an independent ticket.

Winning seats for the newly formed Constitutional Democratic Party of Japan were leader Yukio Edano, a former chief Cabinet secretary, and Akira Nagatsuma, a former health, labor and welfare minister.

Internal Affairs and Communications Minister Seiko Noda and Foreign Minister Taro Kono, both believed to be potential candidates for prime minister in the future, each won single-seat constituencies for the Liberal Democratic Party.

The two ministers were appointed in August in a reshuffle of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s third Cabinet. Noda won a landslide in Gifu Constituency No. 1, beating three rivals, while Kono secured his seat in Kanagawa Constituency No. 15.

Other would-be successors to Abe, former Foreign Minister and LDP Policy Research Council Chairman Fumio Kishida and former Defense Minister Shigeru Ishiba, who has been critical of Abe’s political management, also retained their seats in the lower house.

Shinjiro Koizumi, a popular figure in the LDP and son of former Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi, won in a landslide in Kanagawa Constituency No. 11. Koizumi, who is also the party’s chief deputy secretary general, beat rivals from Kibo, the Japanese Communist Party and one other.

Tomomi Inada, who resigned in July as defense minister due to a scandal over daily activity reports of a Ground Self-Defense Force unit in South Sudan, won her seat in Fukui Constituency No. 1.Speech

Click to play


+ -

Generating speech. Please wait...

Become a Premium Member to use this service.

Become a Premium Member to use this service.

Offline error: please try again.